Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2008 Joint Annual Meeting of Safe States Alliance & CDC -- Awards Recipients
Share |

2008 Safe States Alliance Award Winners

Each year, Safe States Alliance recognizes members and partners of our association for their contributions to Safe States Alliance, and for their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. These individuals and organizations were honored during the 2008 Awards Dinner on Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at the Oklahoma City National Memorial.

Executive Committee Service Award

This award recognizes outgoing Executive Committee members for their exemplary dedication and work toward the advancement of the mission of Safe States Alliance.
2008 Award Winners: 
Susan Hardman, President
Mark Kinde, Treasurer
Lisa Millet, Secretary
John Lundell, Member-At-Large
Peg Prusa-Ogea, Member-At-Large

President's Award
This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.
2008 Award Winners:
Shelli Stephens-Stidham
Linda Scarpetta
Lisa Millet
Mark Kinde
John Lundell
Peg Prusa-Ogea
Trisha Keller
Billie Weiss
Lisa VanderWerf-Hourigan

Partner of the Year Award
This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance.  Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.
2008 Award Winners:
Lois Fingerhut, CDC, National Center for Health Statistics
Lee Annest, CDC, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

Ellen R. Schmidt Award
In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a Safe States Alliance member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury prevention in one of two ways: (1) by developing and/or implementing an outstanding statewide injury prevention program, or (2) by providing outstanding service to Safe States Alliance.
2008 Award Winner:
John Lundell, University of Iowa, Injury Prevention Research Center (IPRC)

Alex Kelter Vision Award (formerly known as the "Vision Award")
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.
2008 Award Winner:
Cheryl DiCara, Maine Youth Suicide Prevention Program (MYSPP)

Prevention Program Achievement Award
This award recognizes a state or local injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure.
2008 Award Winner:
Hawaii Injury Prevention and Control Program

Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention.  The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.
2008 Award Winner: 
Binnie LeHew, Iowa Department of Public Health

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal