Donate   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2009 Joint Annual Meeting: Award Winners
Share |

SOTS Programs

2009 Joint Annual Meeting of
Safe States Alliance & CDC Core State Injury Grantees


2009 Safe States Alliance AWARD WINNERS

Each year, Safe States Alliance recognizes members and partners of our association for their contributions to Safe States Alliance, and for their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. These individuals and organizations were honored during the 2009 Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, February 25, 2009 at the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center.


Executive Committee Service Award
This award recognizes outgoing Executive Committee members for their exemplary dedication and work toward the advancement of the mission of Safe States Alliance.

2009 Award Winners:
Susan Hardman, Past-President
Linda Scarpetta, Vice-President

Trisha Keller, Member-At-Large
Lisa VanderWerf-Hourigan, Member-At-Large
Billie Weiss, Member-At-Large


President's Award
This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2009 Award Winner:
John Lundell, University of Iowa Injury Prevention Research Center








Partner of the Year Award
This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.

2009 Award Winner:
Patricia Adkins, Home Safety Council


Ellen R. Schmidt Award
In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a Safe States Alliance member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury prevention by developing and implementing an outstanding statewide injury prevention program and/or providing outstanding service to Safe States Alliance.

2009 Award Winner:
Barb Alberson, California Department of Public Health


Alex Kelter Vision Award
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2009 Award Winner:
Dr. Hank Weiss, University of Pittsburgh Center for Injury Research and Control (CIRCL)


Prevention Program Achievement Award
This award recognizes a state or local injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure.

2009 Award Winner:
Office of Injury Prevention at the Florida Department of Health
Award presented to Lisa VanderWerf-Hourigan


Innovative Initiative of the Year Award
The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2009 Award Winner:
Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation (PIRE)
Taking Your Medicines Safely Program

Award presented to Dr. Monique Sheppard


Rising Star Award
It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.

2009 Award Winner:
Becky Roosevelt Turpin, Wisconsin Department of Health Services




Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal