Donate   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2010 Award Winners
Share |

2010 Award Winners

Executive Committee Service Award
This award recognizes outgoing Executive Committee members for their exemplary dedication and work toward the advancement of the mission of Safe States Alliance.

2010 Award Winners:

  • Shelli Stephens Stidham, President
  • Linda Scarpetta, President-Elect
  • Lisa VanderWerf-Hourigan, Vice-President
  • John Lundell, Treasurer
  • Peg Prusa-Ogea, Secretary
  • Robin Argue, Member-At-Large
  • Pierre Desy, Member-At-Large
  • Tina Johnson, Member-At-Large
  • Lori Haskett, Member-At-Large
  • Beatriz Perez, Member-At-Large

President's Award

This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance. 2010


2010 Award Winner:

Carolyn Cumpsty Fowler, Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health

Partner of the Year Award
This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.

2010 Award Winners:

  • Amy Harris, CDC, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (Accepted by Dr. CorinneGraffunder, CDC)
  • Dr. Paul Halverson, Arkansas State Health Official and President of ASTHO



Ellen R. Schmidt Award

In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a Safe States Alliance member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury prevention by developing and implementing an outstanding statewide injury prevention program and/or providing outstanding service to Safe States Alliance. 2010


2010 Award Winners:

  • Lisa VanderWerf-Hourigan, Florida Department of Health
  • Roger Trent, California Department of Health

Alex Kelter Vision Award
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2010 Award Winner:
Sue Scavo Gallagher, Tufts University School of Medicine


Prevention Program Achievement Award

This award recognizes a state or local injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure.


2010 Award Winners:

  • Bureau of Injury Prevention, New York State Department of Health (Award presented to Susan Hardman, Bureau Director)
  • Injury Prevention Program, New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services (Award presented to Rhonda Siegel, Program Manager)

Innovative Initiative of the Year Award
The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2010 Award Winner:
Kansas Department of Health & Environment (KDHE)and SAFEHOME
(Initiative submitted by Laurie Hart, KDHE)

Above: Award presented to Lori Haskett, Director, KDHE Injury and Disability Prevention Programs

Below -- from left to right: Lori Haskett of KDHE, Allison Basinger of SAFEHOME, Audrey Cress of SAFEHOME, and Laurie Hart of KDHE

Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.


2010 Award Winner:

Kyla Shelton, Florida Department of Health

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal