Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2011 Award Winners
Share |

2011 Award Winners

Safe States Award Winners

President's Award
This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2011 Award Winner:
Shelli Stephens Stidham, Director, Injury Center of Greater Dallas


Alex Kelter Vision Award
This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2011 Award Winner:
Billie Weiss, Associate Director, Southern California Injury Prevention Research Center, UCLA School of Public Health





Innovative Initiative of the Year Award
The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2011 Award Winner:
California Department of Public Health
(Award presented to Barb Alberson, Chief, Injury Control Section; Initiative submitted by Annette DiPirro, Violence Prevention Unit)



CDC Award Winners

Health Impact Awards
These awards acknowledge individuals, groups, and organizations that have achieved greater health impact in the field of injury prevention; promoted best practices and success stories; and demonstrated CDC's commitment to achieving health impact.


2011 International/National Health Impact Award


Prevention Institute
(Award presented to Larry Cohen, Executive Director, Prevention Institute)




2011 State/Local Health Impact Award



Massachusetts Prevent Injuries Now! Network (MassPINN)

(Award presented to Carlene Pavlos, Director, Division of Violence and Injury Prevention, Massachusetts Department of Public Health)




2011 Researcher or Public Health Program Health Impact Award


Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health: Center for Prevention of Youth Violence
(Award presented to Andrea Gielen, Director Center for Injury Research and Policy, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health)

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal