Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2012 Award Winners
Share |

2012 Award Winners

Each year, the Safe States Alliance recognizes and honors members for their contributions to Safe States and their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. In 2012, during the Joint Annual Meeting of the Safe States Alliance and the CDC Core Violence and Injury Prevention Program, Safe States Alliance honored the following members for the association’s prestigious awards.


Alex Kelter Vision Award

This award was introduced in 2003 to recognize individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2012 Winner: Larry Cohen, Prevention Institute


Innovative Initiative of the Year Award

The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2012 Winner: Utah Department of Health

Partner of the Year Award

This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.

2012 Winner: American Public Health Association

President's Award

This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2012 Winner: Safe States Alliance Staff

Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.

2012 Winner: Jennifer Woody, North Carolina Division of Public Health

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal