Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2014 Award Winners
Share |

 2014 Award Winners

Each year, the Safe States Alliance recognizes and honors members for their contributions to Safe States and their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. In 2014, during the Annual Meeting of the Safe States Alliance, we honored the following members and partners for the association’s prestigious awards.

Alex Kelter Vision Award

This award was introduced in 2003 as Safe States Alliance’s highest honor and recognizes individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2014 Winner: Trisha Keller, Utah Department of Health


Innovative Initiative of the Year Award

The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2014 Winner (awarded in 2014): Kimberly Everett, for the "
Comprehensive Concussion Program of Bucks County"



IVP Champion Award

The IVP Champion Award is given to a person or organization who makes significant strides in the advancement of IVP priorities.

2014 Winner: Paul Bonta, American College of Preventative Medicine (ACPM)


Local Community  Prevention Program Award

This award recognizes a local health department or community-based injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure. Nominees must meet at least a few of the core components such as a program infrastructure, evidence of coalition building, surveillance, strategic plan and stable funding.

2014 Winner: Stewart Williams, Dell Children’s Medical Center of Central Texas

Partner of the Year Award

This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.

2014 Winner: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)


President's Award

This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2014 Winner: Brian L. Wyant, Pennsylvania Department of Health

Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.

2014 Winner: Julie Alonso, Washington State Department of Health, Injury & Violence Prevention Program

(Kathy Williams accepted the award on Julie's behalf)


Tribute Award

The Tribute Award is presented to someone who has dedicated their career to the IVP community, and who we have lost in the last year.

2014 Recipient: Eleanor "Lynn" Jenkins

(Lynn's husband, Glenn Jenkins, accepted the award for the family)



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal