Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2015 Award Winners
Share |

 2015 Award Winners

Each year, the Safe States Alliance recognizes and honors members for their contributions to Safe States and their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. In 2015, during the Annual Meeting of the Safe States Alliance, we honored the following members and partners for the association’s prestigious awards.



Alex Kelter Vision Award

This award was introduced in 2003 as Safe States Alliance’s highest honor and recognizes individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2015 Winner: Lisa VanderWerf-HouriganAdministrator of the Florida Injury Prevention Section


Innovative Initiative of the Year Award

The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2015 Winner: The Hope Squad of Carbon and Emery Counties


Ellen R. Schmidt Award

In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury and violence prevention in one of two ways: (1) by developing and/or implementing an outstanding statewide injury and violence prevention program, or (2) by providing outstanding service to the Safe States Alliance.

2015 Winner: Dr. Michael Gittelman, Treasurer and Injury Prevention Medical Director for the Ohio Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics


Local Community  Prevention Program Award


This award recognizes a local health department or community-based injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure. Nominees must meet at least a few of the core components such as a program infrastructure, evidence of coalition building, surveillance, strategic plan and stable funding.

2015 Winner: Dwayne SmithInjury Prevention Manager at the Children’s Hospital of Colorado and SafeKids Colorado


Partner of the Year Award

This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.


2015 Winner: Sara Patterson, Associate Director for Policy at CDC’s National Center for Injury Prevention and Control
(Amy Peeples accepted the award on Sara's behalf)



President's Award

This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2015 Winner: Michael BauerSection Chief of the New York State Department of Health, Bureau of Occupational Health and Injury Prevention, Epidemiology and Surveillance 

Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.

2015 Winner: Lisa ShieldsSenior Falls Prevention Coordinator in the Injury & Violence Prevention Program at Oregon Public Health Division





Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal