Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2017 Award Winners
Share |

 2017 Award Winners

Each year, the Safe States Alliance recognizes and honors members for their contributions to Safe States and their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. In 2017, during the Annual Meeting of the Safe States Alliance, we honored the following members and partners for the association’s prestigious awards.





Ellen R. Schmidt Award

In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury and violence prevention in one of two ways: (1) by developing and/or implementing an outstanding statewide injury and violence prevention program, or (2) by providing outstanding service to the Safe States Alliance.

2017 Winner: Lori Haskett, Past President, Safe States Alliance




Alex Kelter Vision Award

This award, originally known as the Vision Award and re-named the Alex Kelter Vision Award in 2006, is Safe States Alliance’s highest honor and recognizes individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.

2017 Winner: Shelli Stephens-Stidham, Past President, Safe States Alliance





Partner of the Year Award

This award acknowledges the contributions of an organization or sponsor for furthering the mission of Safe States Alliance. Such contributions would include, but not be limited to, providing financial support for Safe States Alliance activities or by providing states with injury prevention funding or equipment (e.g., bicycle helmets, child safety seats, etc.), or through significant partnership and collaboration throughout the past year.


2017 Winner: National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)



President's Award

This award is presented to a member who has been instrumental in assisting the Safe States Alliance President in achieving the organizational priorities of Safe States Alliance.

2017 Winner: Lindsey Myers, President-elect, Safe States Alliance




Innovative Initiative of the Year Award

The only award selected exclusively by the Safe States Alliance membership, the Innovative Initiative of the Year Award is presented to a Safe States Alliance member who has implemented a truly unique and creative program or activity that has the potential to substantially decrease injuries and violence in the communities that they serve.

2017 Winner: Stop the Opidemic Media Campaign, Utah Department of Health





Rising Star Award

It is of vital importance to recognize new professionals making strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been working in the field for less than five years.

2017 Winner: Kate Jankovsky, Child Fatality Prevention System Coordinator, Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal