Donate   |   Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Today
2019 Awards Nominations
Share |

2019 Awards Nominations


 The 2019 Nomination Period is Now Closed.

Please Check back in Spring 2020

  Instructions for Submitting a Nomination

Each year, the Safe States Alliance recognizes and honors members for their contributions to Safe States and their commitment to the field of injury and violence prevention. In 2019, during the Annual Conference of the Safe States Alliance, we will honor members for the association’s prestigious awards.

Please take a moment to consider how your colleagues have contributed to Safe States and/or the field and submit a nomination today.


Award Information

Advocate of the Year Award*

This award acknowledges the advocacy or policy contributions that either an individual or organization has made in the past year towards advancing the field of injury and violence prevention.


Alex Kelter Vision Award
This award, introduced in 2003, is Safe States Alliance’s highest honor. It recognizes individuals who have brought leadership and vision to the field of injury and violence prevention.


Ellen R. Schmidt Award
In honor of the vision and outstanding contributions of Safe States Alliance’s first President, this award recognizes a member who has made a significant contribution to the field of injury and violence prevention through outstanding service to the Safe States Alliance.

Injury and Violence Prevention Program Achievement Award*
This award recognizes a hospital, community-based, local health department, or state health department injury and violence prevention program that has implemented an innovative approach to maintain or grow their program's infrastructure.


Outstanding Research Award*

This award recognizes student or professional researchers in their contribution to outstanding research that helps further the field of injury and violence prevention.


Rising Star Award*
This award recognizes newer professionals in the field less than five years that are making great strides in the discipline of injury and violence prevention. 


*There may be more than one winner for this award



Instructions for Submitting a Nomination

Each nomination must include:

  1. A completed Nomination Form
  2. A brief paragraph (500 words or less) describing the nominee’s contributions

All information must be typed or printed legibly. We encourage groups to work together on nominations, so we only receive one nomination per award.  Once received, nominations will be reviewed by the Award Committee and the results will be announced during the 2019 Annual Conference.

Return your completed nomination form(s) by Friday, June 21, 2019 to Eva Bland at



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal